12th International Symposium on Database Programming
Languages (DBPL 2009)
Co-located with VLDB 2009

Lyon, France. August 24, 2009.

Call for Papers [pdf]

The 12th Biennial Symposium on Data Base Programming Languages (DBPL 2009), to be held on August 23-24, 2009, in Lyon, France, continues the tradition of excellence initiated by its predecessors in Roscoff, Finistere (1987), Salishan, Oregon (1989), Nafplion, Argolida (1991), Manhattan, New York (1993), Gubbio, Umbria (1995), Estes Park, Colorado (1997), Kinloch Rannoch, Scotland (1999), Marino, Rome (2001), Potsdam, Germany (2003), Trondheim, Norway (2005) and Vienna, Austria (2007).

Over the years DBPL has established itself as the main venue for publishing and discussing new ideas at the intersection of database and programming languages research. Many key contributions in query languages for object-oriented data, persistent databases, nested relational data, semistructured data, as well as fundamental ideas in types for query languages have been first announced and discussed at DBPL. Today's emergence of new data management applications like Web services, XML processing, sensor networks and peer to peer data management has lead to a new flurry of creativity in the area lying at the intersection of data management and programming languages, and DBPL is an established destination for such new ideas.

DBPL 2009 solicits theoretical and practical papers in all areas of Data Base Programming Languages. Papers emphasizing new topics or foundations of emerging areas are especially welcome. Suggested, but not exclusive, topics of interest for submissions include:

  • Data exchange
  • Data integration and interoperability
  • Databases and information retrieval
  • Databases and the Semantic Web
  • Database languages in Bioinformatics
  • Databases in computational linguistics
  • Declarative data centers
  • Managing uncertain and imprecise information
  • Programming language support for databases
  • Databases in e-commerce
  • Multimedia databases
  • Peer-to-peer data management
  • Stream data processing
  • Schema mapping and metadata management
  • Security in data management
  • Semi-structured data
  • Spatial and temporal data
  • Transaction management
  • Validation, type-checking
  • Web services
  • XML processing

Submission guidelines:

Prospective authors are invited to submit full papers in English presenting original research. Submitted papers must be unpublished and not submitted for publication elsewhere. The proceedings will be published in the Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science (lncs) series (www.springer.com/lncs). Submissions should be no more than 15 pages long in the format specified by Springer. Papers longer than 15 pages risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

It is recommended that each submission begins with a succinct statement of the problem and a summary of the main results. If the authors believe more details are necessary to substantiate the main claims of the paper, they may include a clearly marked appendix to be read at the discretion of the committee. E-mail addresses of the authors should be included on the title page. At least one author of each accepted paper must attend the symposium to present their work.

Paper submission will be electronic. Submission website: http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=dbpl2009.

Invitation for the best papers:

The authors of the best papers will be invited to submit extended versions of their papers to the Journal of Computer and System Sciences.

Important dates:

Submission of papers : May 3, 2009 (midnight GMT)
Notification : June 7, 2009
Symposium version due : June 14, 2009
DBPL 2009 : August 23-24, 2009
VLDB Conference : August 24-28, 2009

Invited speaker:


Program co-chairs:

Philippa Gardner (Imperial College, UK)
Floris Geerts (University of Edinburgh, UK)

Program committee:

Pablo Barceló (Universidad de Chile, Chile)
Gavin Bierman (Microsoft Research, Cambridge, UK)
Jan Chomicki (University at Buffalo, USA)
Anuj Dawar (University of Cambridge, UK)
J. Nathan Foster (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
Philippa Gardner (Imperial College, UK)
Floris Geerts (University of Edinburgh, UK)
Cosimo Laneve (Universita di Bologne, Italy)
Maarten Marx (University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Alan Schmitt (Inria, Grenoble, France)
Peter Thiemann (University of Freiburg, Germany)
Christopher Re (University of Washington, USA)
Jerome Simeon (IBM Almaden, USA)
Stijn Vansummeren (University of Hasselt, Belgium)
Jef Wijsen (Université de Mons-Hainaut, Belgium)
Limsoon Wong (National University of Singapore, Singapore)